LABOR RELATIONS & EMPLOYEE SERVICES COMMITTEE MINUTES

December 28, 2011

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Young called the LRES Committee to order at 9:00 a.m. in the first floor conference room of the Oneida County Courthouse. It was noted that this meeting had been properly noticed in accordance with the Wisconsin Open Meeting Law and meets the Americans With Disabilities Act.

LRES COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT: John Young, Paul Dean, Ted Cushing, Sonny Paszak and Scott Holewinski.

LRES COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT: None

ALSO PRESENT: Lisa Charbarneau, Linda Herrmann (Labor Relations/Employee Services); Margie Sorenson (Finance); Randy Ingram (WPPA Representative); Keith Fabianski (Sheriff Dept.); Paul Spencer, Bonnie Davis (Social Services); Nick Scholtes (Highway)

APPROVE AGENDA

Motion by Cushing, second by Dean to approve the agenda for the present meeting. All ayes; motion carried

APPROVE MINUTES

Motion by Paszak, second by Dean to approve the minutes of November 30 and December 06, 20ll as presented. All ayes; motion carried.

BILLS & VOUCHERS

Motion by Holewinski, second by Cushing to approve the bills and vouchers as presented. All ayes; motion carried.

ECONOMIC SUPPORT SPECIALIST VACANCY REVIEW

Paul Spencer came before the Committee to request filling his vacant economic support specialist position and waiving the six month vacancy review. He explained that half of the position was on the tax levy.

Motion by Cushing, second by Dean to approve filling the vacant economic support specialist position in the Social Services department. All ayes; motion carried.

2012 LRES GOAL REVIEW

Lisa Charbarneau explained that the goals for the department centered around efficiency, consolidation and training and keeping the people we have.

Motion by Dean, second by Paszak to accept the 2012 Long Range Departmental Plan for the LRES Department as presented. All ayes; motion carried.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion by Holewinski, second by Dean to adjourn into closed session pursuant to section 19.85(1) (e) & (g), Wis Stats., for: (1) purposes of deliberating the County's position in a matter relating to collective bargaining under subch. I, IV, or V of ch 111, stats. when bargaining reasons require a closed session; and, (2) for purposes of conferring with legal counsel concerning strategy to be adopted by the governmental body with respect to litigation in which it is or is likely to become involved. Roll call vote taken with all voting in the affirmative. Motion carried.

Discussion held in closed session.

Motion by Holewinski, second by Paszak to return to open session. Roll call vote taken with all voting in the affirmative; motion carried.

The following motions were made during the above closed session and announced in open session:

Motion by Cushing, second by Paszak to approve the Memorandum of Understanding for the Social Worker Association, Public Health Department Employees Association and the Sheriff's Non-Protective Employees Association. Roll call vote with all voting in the affirmative; motion carried.

Motion by Paszak, second by Dean to approve grade level 12, step 5 at \$51,022 on the non-rep wage schedule for the new patrol superintendent. Roll call vote with all voting in the affirmative; motion carried.

WELLNESS/HEALTH UPDATES

None

OUT-OF-COUNTY TRAVEL

Motion by Cushing, second by Dean to send Jack Young and Lisa Charbarneau to the County Mutual's Budget Repair Bill Consortium in Stevens Point on January 24th. All ayes; motion carried.

Motion by Cushing, second by Paszak to authorize Jack Young and Lisa Charbarneau to attend the WCA seminar "Roles and Tools in County Administration" in Stevens Point on January 23, 2012. All ayes; motion carried.

Motion by Paszak, second by Holewinski to allow Lisa Charbarneau to attend the 2012 WPELRA Annual Conference in Madison on January 19th and 20th. All ayes; motion carried.

FUTURE MEETING DATES

January 03 12:00 p.m. January 25 9:30 a.m.

FUTURE AGENDA TOPICS

Step Increases at January 25th meeting.

December 28, 2011 Page 3	
PUBLIC COMMENTS None	
ADJOURNMENT Motion by Holewinski, second by Cushing to adjourn. Motion carried; all ayes.	
Meeting adjourned at 9:45 a.m.	
John R. Young, Chairman	Linda Herrmann, Committee Secretary